Sunday night at my home church’s Super Bowl party I had a moment with one of my pastors.  She told me how poorly she had slept the night before, so I prayed for her.

This is what I do in ministry:  I listen and respond in prayer.  The only difference is that my mission field is Europe, so that is where the ministry mostly happens.  She was very moved by my simple prayer, and the fact that I cared enough to pray for her.

In praying for her again today, I realized that I’m really glad I’m called as a missionary, and not a pastor.  Pastors probably have the most difficult ministry in all the kingdom of God because they are constantly sought after.  There are always some people in the church who seek them out for prayer and counseling on every issue in their lives.  Pastors encounter those who can be dysfunctional in their relationships and even mentally or emotionally unstable and demanding.  Pastors know better than anybody that not everybody who attends church is seeking a closer relationship with God.

Additionally, being a pastor is like drawing a big bull’s eye on yourself because you are the enemy’s primary target.  If he can take down the pastor, he can potentially destroy many others as well.

Wise pastors construct a godly team of people that they can delegate to handle the day-to-day issues and problems of the flock.  Indeed, my pastors are very wise.  They are also very accessible and caring people, refusing to hide themselves behind a wall of leaders, as some pastors do.  I am not criticizing pastors who are less accessible, but rather, stating a sad fact.  I have no doubt that many have been forced to retreat from interactions that could jeopardize their ministry and time with their families.

How can you care for your pastors?

  1. Pray for him or her.  People are always seeking their pastors for prayer; instead keep your pastor in prayer daily.  Pray for your pastor’s health, safety, family, finances (many are forced to work a second job), relationships, ministry (guidance and wisdom for leading the church), and anything else that you know about or are lead to pray about.
  2. Respect the “process” your church has for communication.  When I was called as a missionary, I contacted my pastors directly for the very first time because I knew that I would need the support of my church.  If I had been less sure of my call, I would have first talked with my small group leaders about it.  Be aware of the process in your church.  In some cases, you should talk to your small group leaders, or perhaps an elder or a deacon, and let them talk to the pastor.
  3. Be a friend.  When you do have a moment with your pastor, say something encouraging and/or supportive.  Let your pastor know that you are someone who cares for them.  One thing I frequently do is quote my pastor from the sermon.  In fact, I did it again Sunday night—and the pastor overheard me.  I just smiled and said, “Yes, I really do quote you all the time!”
  4. Get involved.  Remember what a tremendous burden the pastor carries.  It is unrealistic to expect the pastor to do everything in the church.  Your pastor is always praying for you, among all the others of your congregation.  Your pastor is also seeking God’s wisdom and guidance for the church.  There is so much more to pastoring than just giving a sermon on Sunday.  If your church has a team of intercessors, consider joining it.  If you are not involved at your church, pray about how God wants you to be involved.  My pastor says, “We’re not called to go to church, but to be the church.”  (Yes, I really do quote the pastor!)

How is God calling you to be the church?